African Encyclomedia

Netflix provides $1 million for our Storytellers

CAPE TOWN: Netflix, this week announced a commitment of US$1 million towards the newly-established Netflix Creative Equity Scholarship Fund

(CESF) for film and TV students in Sub-Saharan Africa.

The world’s leading entertainment streaming service, says the CESF will financially support the next generation of storytellers in Sub-Saharan Africa.

According to the group, the scholarship fund forms part of Netflix’s global Netflix Creative Equity Fund launched in 2021 to be allocated to various initiatives over the next 5 years with the goal of developing a strong, diverse pipeline of creatives around the world.

The scholarship fund will cover the costs for tuition, accommodation, study materials and living expenses at institutions where beneficiaries have gained admission to pursue a course of study in the TV & film disciplines in the 2022 academic year.

Moreover, the Netflix CESF is targeted for rollout across the region in the academic year commencing in 2022, starting with an open call for applications in the Southern African Development Community (SADC) region, in partnership with social investment fund management and advisory firm Tshikululu Social Investments as implementing partner/fund administrator in Southern Africa.

Ben Amadasun, Netflix Director of Content in Africa remarks, “Netflix is excited by the potential of the next generation of storytellers and we’re committed to investing in the future of African storytelling in the long-term,” says Amadasun, “We believe there are great stories to be told from Africa and we want to play our part by supporting students who are passionate about the film and TV industry so they too, can ultimately contribute to the creative ecosystem by bringing more unique voices and diverse perspectives to African storytelling that our global audiences find appealing.”

Primarily, the Netflix CESF is designed to provide financial assistance, through full scholarships, at partner higher educational institutions (HEI) in South Africa to support the formal qualification and training of aspiring creatives from a SADC region country that wish to study in South Africa, and are able to obtain the necessary permissions to do so.

The following countries are eligible: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

In the SADC region, the fund will be available to students who have obtained admission to study in various film & TV-focused disciplines, for the 2022 academic year, at the following partner institutions:AACA Film and Acting School; AFDA; Boston Media House; Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT); City Varsity; Durban University of Technology (DUT); Tshwane University of Technology (TUT); University of Cape Town (UCT); University of Johannesburg (UJ); University of KwaZulu-Natal; University of Pretoria (UP); University of the Witwatersrand (Wits).

Students interested in applying for scholarships for the 2022 academic year will be able to find additional information, application criteria, a list of partner higher education institutions (HEI) and will be able to apply online on the fund manager and advisory partner, Tshikululu’s website Tshikululu.org.za.

Applications are now open until 04 February 2022 at 23h59 CAT.

Fund administration partners for East Africa and the West and Central Africa regions will be announced in due course.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com